Your Next Beer Episode 39: Fuller’s London Porter – From savage baggage handlers with love

Back to our normal audio quality! A new show in a new series. This week we look at Fuller’s London Porter. You may not have heard of the Porter style if you’re new to beer, but it is one my favorites, so I’m excited to be exploring it.

News

The Beer Pong World Series took place this last week and the top prize was $50,000. Now I will admit, I have played a game or two in my life. Alright, I have played a hell of a lot more than a game or two, and I am not sure that I could make it to the end of a major tournament and stand up to accept the check! Check out the website for more information.

Porters

  • So what exactly is a porter? Well to really understand this still, we are going to need a quick lesson in British history.
  • In the early 1700’s in England, blending beers was pretty common.
  • In 1722 a brewer named Ralph Harwood in London came up with a single beer that mimicked the flavor of one of the most popular blends, called “three threads.
  • One group of customers, London’s porters, really liked this beer, and it got its name from the people who drank it.
  • The Porter trend grew in London and quickly became one of the best selling styles. A fact that some out of towners soon picked up on.

Fullers London Porter

  • Well I know we usually start with a cheap American beer for a series, but I decided to buck that trend and go with one of the originals.
  • Fuller, Smith, and Turner PLC have been brewing beer in England since 1845 in Chiswick, West London. They brew at the history Griffin Brewery which has actually been brewing beer since the 1600’s.
  • The distribution for this product is pretty good. The bottle I bought I got in Pittsburgh, but I am sure that I have seen it here in Chicago as well and just about everywhere.
  • It weighs in at 5.4% ABV which is right in the middle of what we said for this style.
  • This is a dark beer, but don’t be scared. I can’t tell you how many times people have said to me that, oh, well I don’t like those dark beers, not knowing that dark beers can taste very different. This one is actually surprisingly mild and mellow.
  • The first thing you taste with this one is the malt, a nice roasty and chocolatly flavor, but not overwhelming by any means.
  • All in all, this is a great first step beer for those of you who haven’t tried a darker beer. Further more, this is a great beer to introduce people to if they are not sure if they like this style.

Next Week

Next week we will be coming back to America and talking about Sierra Nevada Porter, another widely available beer from a company we have talked quite a bit about.

Download Episode

One response to “Your Next Beer Episode 39: Fuller’s London Porter – From savage baggage handlers with love

  1. It has been an impossibility for me to pourchase Fuller’s London Porter in the Philadelphia area. They make it so hard to find out who and where. It is a sad state of affairs.

    Please get back to me with the information I need. To begin with, I require 2 to 4 cases of Fuller’s London Porter, at the best possible price. Don’t send me to Origlio, as I tried them and it was a waste. I will pick-up.

Leave a comment