Episode 91: Fat Tire Amber Ale – Peddling it way into our hearts.

We start a new series talkin’ bout Amber Ales. We start off with one of our favorite beers, Fat Tire Amber Ale. Ambers are a good bit lighter and hoppier than barleywines. A nice departure.

News

Police have arrested a Greenfield, California man for allegedly arranging to sell his 14-year-old daughter into marriage in exchange for $16,000, 100 cases of beer and several cases of meat. Police said they only learned of the deal after the 36-year-old man went to them to get his daughter back because payment wasn’t made as promised. The man was arrested Sunday on suspicion of human trafficking. Officers also arrested an 18-year-old man on suspicion of statutory rape. Investigators believe the girl went willingly with the man, but she’s under California’s legal age of consent and can’t legally marry.

Amber Ales

  • We will be talking about Amber Ales for the next couple weeks, which I will admit is a bit of a catch all category. It is also one that many brewers produce and I would wager to guess nearly all brewpubs make.
  • An amber ale tends to focus more on maltly flavors, but there can be some hoppyness depending on the brewer and the beer. The color is going to be, shockingly, amber.
  • Expect to see ABV’s in the range of 4-7% for these beers.

Fat Tire Amber Ale

  • Fat Tire is brewed by New Belgium Brewing Company located in Fort Collins, Colorado.
  • Founded in 1991 by Jeff Lebesch, a home-brewer and electrical engineer, and Kim Lebesch a social worker and first sales person for New Belgium, the first two beers were the Fat Tire and a brown dubbel.
  • Fat Tire was actually named for the owners bike trip through Belgium. The label of this beer features a big and employees receive a replica of this bike on their one year anniversary.
  • Fat tire weighs in at 5.2% abv and is available is in quite a few states.
  • The pour is amber in color with a nice little head that provides some nice lacing as you drink the beer.
  • The smell is light and malty, although there is some nice citrus smell from the hops.
  • The taste is balanced to malty in flavor, however there is some nice hoppyness there at times as well.
  • This is a great beer to introduce people to good beer with. It isn’t too overwhelming, and it is a great session beer. I will admit, this is my favorite beer to drink with a nice slice of deep dish pizza.

Next Week

Another amber, which one we do not know, so stay tuned.

Download Episode

4 responses to “Episode 91: Fat Tire Amber Ale – Peddling it way into our hearts.

  1. Just a word of encouragement. I listen to you guys every week. I have learned a lot of new beers from you and and been substantiated on my of my favorites.
    Keep on doing the podcasts!
    Scrums, Ryan

  2. I know you guys like the Steelers and I just wanted to say that that 100 yd TD was AWESOME!

  3. Jake, if Fat Tire were available within a 5 hour drive of Pittsburgh, I wouldn’t have to stock-up every time I visit Jim in Chicago. Aside of IL, TN, and most recently NC (though still not widely available there – believe me, I’ve checked), you can’t get Fat Tire anywhere east of the Mississippi River, unfortunately.
    http://www.newbelgium.com/faq

    I’ve been asking my local mix & match 6-pack shops (3 Sons Dogs & Suds, D’s, Trivia Pub, Bocktown, etc..) for almost 2 years now, and every time the answer is the same : a heartless chuckle & a shake of the head. It’s to the point now that when I’m checking out, I’ll say “I have a question for you….”, to which the answer is immediately “NO!” But one can hope, right? Right?!

Leave a comment